Click to download Document




Awards for Feature Films

(Before the Rain)
Academy Award Nomination 1995: Best Foreign-Language Film
Venice Film Festival 1994:

Golden Lion for Best Film

FIPRESCI Prize (International Critics Prize)

The UNICEF Prize 1994

Premio Cinemavenire (Young Viewers’ Prize)

Audience Prize

Rolling Venice Award from the City of Venice

Leoncino d’oro, awarded by the Italian students

International Catholic Organization for the Cinema

Kodak Award for Best First Feature

Francesco Pasineti Syndicate Award for Best Actor, Rade Serbedzija

OCIC Award – Honorable Mention

Sao Paulo Festival 1994: Audience Award for Best Film
Puerto Rico Festival 1994:

Jury Award for Best Film

Audience Award for Best Film

Best Director

Best First Film

Stockholm Festival 1994: Best Debut Film
Mons Festival, Belgium, 1995: Charlot d’or
St Petersburg Festival of Festivals 1995: Grand Prix
Burgos Festival, Spain, 1995: winner of the single Festival Prize
Gorizia Festival of Screenplay, Italy, 1995: Best Screenplay
Film Forum, Bratislava, Slovakia, 1995: Best Film
Panteleria, Italy, 1995: UNESCO Prize
Warsaw Film Fest, 1995: Audience Award
Austria, 1995: Catholic Film Commission Prize
David di Donatello Special Award to a non-Italian film, Italy, 1995
Swedish Film Institute, 1995: Golden Bug for Best Foreign Film
Film Critics Association of Turkey 1995: Best Foreign Film
Mediterranean Prize for Peace and Tolerance, 1995
Independent Spirit Award 1996: Best Foreign-Language Film
Silver Condor, 1997, Argentinian Critics Association, Best Foreign Film


Golden Reel Award Nomination (Best Sound Editing), 2002


Syracuse Film Festival, 2008: Best Actress, Vesna Stanojevska
Park City Film Music Festival, 2008: Gold Medal for Outstanding Achievement, Ryan Shore, composer
Golden Ladybug, 2008: Best Actress, Vesna Stanojevska
Macedonian Academy-Award Submission, 2008: Best Foreign-Language Film


European Film Committee recommendation – 24th EFA Film Awards invitation, 2011
Cinema City Festival: FEDEORA (Federation of Film Critics of Europe and the Mediterranean), 2011
FEST 2011:

Nebojsa Djukelic Critics Award for Best Film

Special Jury Prize in the selection Europe Out of Europe

MTV Adria Movie Awards: Best Movie nomination, 2011
Macedonian Academy-Award Submission: Best Foreign-Language Film, 2010

(Bikini Moon)
“Bikini Moon” won a Special Jury Award at the 38th Fantasporto – Oporto International Film Festival held from February 20th till march 4th in Porto, Portugal.

Cinequest – Best Narrative Feature Film, 2020
Mostra de Valencia – Silver Palm, 2020
Fantasporto – Directors Week Best Film (Manoel De Oliveira Award, 2020)
Wellington Independent Film Festival – Best Feature Film, 2020
Raindance – Best Director 2020
Macedonian Academy-Award Submission: Best Foreign Language Film, 2021
European Film Academy feature film selection for the 33rd European Film Awards, 2020
Finalist for European Film commissions network location award, 2020
In selection for the Golden Globe Award for best motion picture – foreign language, 2020
Stony Brook Film Festival, New York, USA – jury award for best feature, 2021
Athens Marathon International Film Festival, Athens, Greece
– best feature award
– best supporting actress award for Natalija Teodosieva
– honorable mention for best director, best cinematography, best supporting actress for Sara Klimoska & PEOPLE’S CHOICE FOR BEST FEATURE, 2021
Across The Globe Film Festival – best actress in a leading role award: Natalija Teodosieva, 2021

Best Feature Drama, Cinequest Film Festival 2023
Director’s Week Jury’s Special Award, Fantasporto 2023
Fedeora Special Mention, Montenegro Film Festival 2023
Boer Award for Best Actress for Sara Klimoska, Sombor Film Festival 2023
Audience Choice Award, Tirana International Film Festival 2023
Grand Prix Best Film In Searching Competition Program, First Frame Iff
Best Film, I-Fest Palermo 2023

Awards for Short Forms
(Macedonia Timeless)
International Tourfilm Festival, Płock, Poland, 2009 Best Commercial Spot
SILAFEST, 2009: Blue Danube Award for Best Cultural Tourist Film
International Festival of Tourist and Ecology Films, Serbia, 2009
Mobius Award, 1st place, Television, Recreation – Entertainment category, 2010


Rolling Stone Magazine, 1994: One of 100 best videos ever
The Village Voice, 1993: Best Video – runner-up
Platinum Record, 1993
MTV, 1992: Best Video – Rap
Billboard, 1992: Best Video: New Pop/Rock Act


Belgrade Alternative, 1985: Best Experimental Film


USA Film Festival, 2014: Festival Award, National Competition


(The End of Time)
Aspen Shortsfest, 2017: Ellen Award, Official Competition
Jihlava International Documentary Film Festival, 2017: Special Mention, Experimental Competition
Berlin Experimental Film festival, 2017: Experimental non narratives, Official Competition
Belgrade Alternative Film/Video, 2017: Important Works of the Festival, Official Competition
SanGiò Verona Video Festival; 2018: Best editing, Official Competition
Tirana Film Festival: Best Art Video and Experimental Film, 2018
Wandering Reel Traveling Film Festival: Curator’s Choice, 2018


Achievement Awards
Special Award, I-Fest 2023, Italy
Award for Film Achievement BANEFF 2023, Stockholm
Award for Film Achievement First Frame IFF 2023, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Zivojin Pavlovic for Contribution to Film Art, Leskovac, 2022
Special Award for Contribution to World Cinema , Sofia International Film Festival, 2020
Eastern Star Award, Trieste Film Festival, 2019
Golden Camera 300, Manaki Brothers International Film Festival, Bitola, 2017
Career Award, International Film Festival Fantasporto, Porto, 2016
UMD Macedonian Heritage Public Service Award, 2015
Great Star of Macedonian Cinema Award, Macedonian Society of Film Professionals, 2014
Honorary Doctorate, VGIK, Moscow, Russia, 2013
National Artist (awarded by the President of the Republic of Macedonia), 2012
Central European Initiative, Trieste, 2012
Ambassador of Culture of the Republic of Macedonia, 2007
Mother Theresa award for humanitarian work, Mother Theresa Foundation, 2002
October 11 for Major Achievement (highest peacetime award, Republic of Macedonia), 1995



basic | micro | grande | jumbo | awards

basic  |  micro  |  grande  |  jumbo  |  awards